talkistania

homonym

Layer upon layer
Sheet below sheet
Once upon a time
History repeats
Me upon you
Old below new

You are no more
Neither is your home
But I am here
Tracing you on my own
Searching for glimpses of you
Old below new

In the cracks of the plaster, new upon old
In the lanes and the gulleys, a tale untold
In the courtyard, sunken below layers of street
In between buildings, I hear your heart beat
In the dust-specked light filtered through
In remembrance of a memory I never knew

Layer below layer
Street upon street
Line below line
The code is complete
You below me
Tee upon tee

You are no more
Neither is your name
With glimpses of you in me
I am here all the same
In search of you
Old below new

My homonym
My humnaam
My namesake

This entry was published on March 24, 2017 at 20:08 and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

