talkistania

Blind Faith

This is a two-part argument. The first part can be read here.

 

One day, he asked me, “Is your faith a logical faith or is it blind faith?”

I said, “It is logical, because I understand and accept the truth.”

I cited the many places in the Quran that Allah repeats that this is a message for people of understanding:

We detail Our signs for people who understand. ~Quran 6:98

[This is] a blessed Book which We have revealed to you, [O Muhammad], that they might reflect upon its verses and that those of understanding would be reminded. ~Quran, 38:29

Yet, he said, “My faith is a blind faith.”

“How?”

“First, very literally, I cannot see my God. I believe in His existence without ever seeing Him. I have never seen Him, yet I believe He is there. That’s my blind faith.

Second, I believe without understanding. I only understand this: there is one God, and Mohammed has been given his message. Whatever the message says, I believe and accept, whether it be logical or seemingly absurd.”

Later on that day, I took some time to mull over this new and radical way of thinking, that could possibly be misconstrued by some as limited and regressive. Applying logic to the requirement of hijab, I wrote about my understanding of the futility of logic in this post.

The term “blind faith” is not commonly associated with deeper meditations and higher consciousness! Upon further analysis, I realized that if Islam were to be based solely on human logic, Allah would never have asked Prophet Ibrahim to sacrifice his own son, without the knowledge that he would be saved. The command was completely bereft of logic, and I know many who may even term it barbaric. However, the result was entirely compassionate and rewarding. It was a test, and Ibrahim passed this test only because he had blind faith in Allah’s plan. The test was at once a test of Ibrahim’s faith in Allah, and also a revelation of Allah’s most merciful nature.

There are many, many things we don’t yet know about, and can’t, and countless ideas that our minds can’t comprehend. Sometimes we think we know something, and evidence to the contrary is later revealed. The extent of human knowledge is far from complete. I do not believe human intellect is all-encompassing so as to understand the logic or aim behind everything in this universe, and it’s a proof of limited intellect to even think we can understand.

Only faith, if kept as a constant companion, can carry us through life. All I need to understand is this.

He gives wisdom to whom He wills, and whoever has been given wisdom has certainly been given much good. And none will remember except those of understanding. ~Quran, 2:269

 

This entry was published on March 14, 2017 at 11:52 and is filed under Introspeculation, Islam, One Man's Utopia, WhatExists. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Blind Faith

  1. Pingback: A Blind and Seeing Faith | talkistania

Leave a Reply

