talkistania

Fifteen-minute Farfalle

When you really don’t feel like cooking after a long day of work, this quick-fix recipe will motivate you because of its ease of preparation and simplicity. Using any ingredients you may have on hand, you’ll have a delicious and filling dinner ready in no time!

In fact, I won’t even list out the ingredients for this one. You can add whatever you feel like, there are no rules. I’ll just tell you how I made it.

First, I took a small bowl of water and dissolved some chicken stock (because I didn’t have chicken) and a pack of Knorr cream of mushroom soup (because I didn’t have any mushrooms).

Then, I chopped about 5-6 cloves of garlic because I love garlic and wanted it to dominate the almost-no-sauce of this pasta. I chopped a few sprigs of coriander and set them aside. I also cut a green bell pepper into bite-sized pieces and sautéed them in a wok coated with olive oil, because it’s a pain to do this in the end. I drained the bell peppers on a paper towel.

In a large pot, I boiled lots of water, salted with a couple of teaspoons, and put the farfalle or bow-tie pasta to cook as per directions on the pack. I knew this recipe would take almost no time, and that farfalle take longer to cook than regular pasta, so I did this step early on.

After this, I grated a cup of mozzarella cheese. Now the cooking begins!

I poured some more olive oil to the aforementioned wok, and began to fry the garlic very, very slowly. I also added a teaspoon of ginger-garlic paste, which is the law because I’m Indian. As the garlic began it brown slightly, I lowered the heat and, after giving it a quick stir, I poured the stock-soup mixture in, along with a table spoon of yoghurt. This took a very short time to cook, and I kept stirring vigorously to avoid lump-formation. It thickened in no time and I quickly added the cheese and stirred until it melted and became a smooth, thick sauce.

Next, I seasoned. The usual suspects: freshly-ground black pepper, basil and red chilli flakes. I had to be very careful with the salt because the stock is already quite salty, and the pasta water was also liberally salted. Taste, season, taste, mix.

By this time, the pasta was done and I directly added it to the sauce from the pot. I also didn’t mind getting in some of the pasta water, because the sauce was reduced. I turned off the heat and began to mix well, adding as much water as I needed for the sauce to coat the pasta completely.

I love the sticky sound of the pasta mixing with the sauce! Garnished with coriander, and it was ready. My whole family ate it all up and my plan of taking leftovers for lunch was foiled. But I had a plateful of creamy-cheesy bow-ties, and all was well with the world.

This entry was published on March 3, 2015 at 03:07 and is filed under Cooking as Therapy. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

