talkistania

What I am

Tip of the iceberg, part of the picture

You never judge a book by its cover

Then why do you look at me with those eyes?

As if you can see right through my guise?

 


I am not only a woman, though I may walk like one.

I am not only an architect, though I may talk like one.

I am not only a runner, though I am part of the race.

Lost in the crowd, I am not another face.

I am not a sequel, though I am second in the series.

I am second to none, I am not a reprise.

 

I am what I am

I am all that you say, but I am also more


In this moment, for you I will not be what you want me to be,

Though I am that, there’s so much more about me.

Why must I conceal?

I refuse to wear your label,

Because I am not one, I am many.

 

I am Muslim, not because my name says I am.

I am Indian, not because my passport says I am.

I am a wanderer, though I am not lost.

I am a poet, though I am no Frost.

I maybe young, but I am old.

I will not do as I am told.

 

What I am, I am.

I am all that, and that much more.

 

In this moment, for you I will be what you want me to be,

For I am that, and there’s so much more about me.

Why must I reveal?

I will wear your label with pride,

You can’t handle knowing what’s really inside.

This entry was published on March 22, 2010 at 04:06 and is filed under From Bad to Verse. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “What I am

  1. Lovely! really inspiring! keep at it.danny

  2. Arsh on said:

    Too many things at the same time. World full of contradictions.

Leave a Reply

