talkistania

Mumbaiyyabad

Saying goodbye to Hyderabad was like tearing out a piece of me and leaving it behind… Hyderabad, the city of my birth, which I had reacquainted mysef with after 17 years of my life… but this entry is not about that. This entry is about a change of scenario and a change in perception.


I wish I could say that it’s been a smooth change, but it has not, as I hesitantly put uncertain, faltering steps on shaky ground… maybe this is where the drama lies, but any attempt to chronicle that rough transition would be to stray from the aim of this space, which is documentation, pure and honest. Perhaps its time will come. For a long time I struggled to come to terms with this transplant, feeling somewhat incomplete and thus incompetent. And now, here I am again… having found my footing and no longer feeling misplaced… braced to join the ranks of worn-out faces going to worn-out places.

Having risked sounding pessimistic let me continue in a more objective manner (I hope).

Change is inevitable. I’ve moved from laid-back (now I know why it’s called that!) Hyderabad to fast-moving Mumbai, where everything is a blur and change is constant. From a city with a rich past that’s looking expectantly toward the future to a city that exists only in the present bubble of time. From Hyder Abad, that was firmly rooted in its own centuries of heritage and remained untouched by the British reign… to Bom Bahai that was untouched before the Raj, and was assembled like a complex puzzle only with the arrival of the British. One a metropolitan city of ancient lore, the other a leading contemporary metropolis. Two disparate, self-contained realms, two potential case-studies for comparative analysis that would appeal to a student of architecture and a student of life.

And this student discovers new ways of looking at a cityscape which changes rapidly but with appalling regularity. It’s a matter of perspective readjustment. You can unveil wonders if you know where to look. Open all doors and you just might find what you’re looking for. And sometimes you might even find something you didn’t know you were looking for. In Mumbai, by the time you look behind door no. 3, what’s behind doors no. 1 and 2 has already transformed into something else. I am at liberty to look behind all three doors, and I maintain my right not to choose, but to keep opening door after door.

All my life I’ve been on the outside looking in. For the past five years, I’ve been on the inside looking out. For once, I may be on either side. Everything is tentative and a matter of change… changing perspectives.

Life Law #6: There is no reality, only perception.

This entry was published on February 25, 2007 at 23:29 and is filed under ArchiRave. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Mumbaiyyabad

  1. Nice to miss u.
     
     

  2. Oooo la la! It sounds incredible! I look forward to visiting India in the future…after I finish settling in Morocco. I understand thet feelings you must be having. But mine is the reverse; I went from HYPERSPEED in Los Angeles to the almost snails pace of Morocco. I have to admit, I prefer movong a bit slower. In LA life flies by so quickly that one forgets to appreciate the individual moments. Life is all about the little things. The big picture can usually take care of itself. Thanks for a great entry and congrats on being featured as BEST OF MSN! You deserve it.

    Ron

Leave a Reply

